Greeting the New Year

2009 has arrived and I’m completely unprepared. I’d like to greet the new year by asking it to treat us with mercy. I’m ready to take it on provided there are no Skeksis hiding in the shadows.  Deal?

January has often been a time of reflection for me.  For most of the year I keep pretty busy.  Hiding behind my interests allows me to avoid reflection most of the time but I could never fully escape January.  The cold of winter and the quiet of the post-holiday season isolates us with our thoughts.  Some days it feels as though I’m living in a snow globe; the muffled quiet surrounding me as the snow swirls around my little house.

I have the standard New Year’s resolutions: get healthier, spend more time with my family, win the lottery.  The simple things in life right?  I have other resolutions too: work on my home business, improve my guitar playing and yoga practice, win the lottery.   But beyond the surface are my heart’s desires… these I keep to myself; like a wish that might fail if vocalized.   The kinds of hopes and dreams that those closest to me already know… I don’t need to vocalize anything, they know my secrets.

Hopefully everyone takes some time to reflect.  Reprioritize their lives; remembering we work to live, never live to work.

As Mel Brooks so perfectly stated, “Look, I really don’t want to wax philosophic, but I will say that if you’re alive, you’ve got to flap your arms and legs, you’ve got to jump around a lot, you’ve got to make a lot of noise, because life is the very opposite of death. “

2 responses to this post.

  1. At the same time, he also said “If Shaw and Einstein couldn’t beat death, what chance do I have? Practically none.”

    Reply

  2. Ah Mel. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

