The Order of Canada

On Canada Day the Governor General, Michaëlle Jean, awarded the Order of Canada to a number of people. Among the recipients is Dr. Henry Morgentaler. As the Governor General’s website indicates Dr. Morgentaler was given this honour “for his commitment to increased health care options for women, his determined efforts to influence Canadian public policy and his leadership in humanist and civil liberties organizations”.

Not only did Dr. Morgentaler provide a choice for women but he did it at a great risk to his life and to his freedom.  Through every attack on his life and liberty he did not back down from his belief that women should have this basic right to choose and to have access to safe medical treatment.  As a Canadian and a woman I’m proud to know that his efforts have been acknowledged and honoured.

You can find the entire list of recipients on the Governor General’s website.  

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kakistocrat on July 4, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    I have also blogged on this subject and do not find him a worthy recipient. It is my opinion that arguments which appeal to choice, bodily rights, back-alley abortions, or privacy, do not match the power of the scientific reality that human life is contained within a pregnant mother’s womb. Drop by at my blog and we can discuss the matter if you like.

    Also that is not the only reason why I was opposed to his nomination.

    Reply

  2. If you would like to go by scientific reality, to become life it must have the ability to sustain itself, not be reliant on a someone/something else.

    I understand that some people feel he was too controversial for this award however the man risked his life and fought for many years so women could decide for themselves something that impacted them so immensely.

    I’m sorry you disagree but I accept that not everyone shares my opinions. But ya should… 😉

    Judge not lest ye be judged right?

    Reply

  3. Posted by K. on July 5, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Infants 9 months old are reliant on someone else. The severely handicapped can be their entire life. Do you need more examples. Clearly reliance cannot be seen as the determining factor.

    Yes he did risk his life. But his appointment is ideological, just as it would have been if someone deeply heroic to rightwingers (and deeply divisive to those on the left) had been appointed. I would be arguing against that to. The award should unite people as Canadians.

    I didn’t realize judgments were being read into my opinions. I thought it was rather carefully written and not very emotive. My mistake. 🙂

    Reply

  4. If that the fact that this was a divisive rather than unifying choice was the focus of your argument I could support that. However it is my understanding that the right wing has been represented in the Order of Canada despite the divisive nature of that award, granted abortion is likely one issue that goes beyond what they normally address during their decision making process.

    Note that I don’t pretend to know the details, this is just second hand info but from trusted sources…. it’s late and I’m too tired to look up the details. 🙂

    I think I’d like to close the discussion here though. I’d rather this didn’t turn into a debate since neither of us are likely to be swayed by the other. Thanks for commenting though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

