Mmmmm… cake.

I am on the hunt for the perfect vanilla cake!

I made one this week and both the texture and the flavour were quite good. I did however find that the layers had no height to them and although the cake is rich and I don’t need a large slice I found the appearance was not what I would want it to be. I think a cake should be magestic and for that I need a bit more height.

I used a cream cheese icing which was good but was almost too rich and the recipe came out runnier than I would have liked and I had no extra ingredients to thicken it up with.

My biggest problem this time around was transport. I had iced the cake on a plate and had intended to wrap it in plastic wrap and bring it to work. Unfortunately we were completely out and the largest container I had was too small for the plate. Have you ever tried to move a completely decorated cake with a spatula? Messy. So although the cake was yummy it wasn’t the prettiest thing in town. No complaints were heard from my coworkers… of course their mouths were full! I will definitely be purchasing some of those cake boards for future cake experimentation.

Do any of you have a wonderful vanilla cake recipe you would like to share? I always bake from scratch with very basic of ingredients and I prefer to avoid recipes with oil or shortening. Feel free to add your recipe suggestions/links to my comments!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jeff on May 1, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I have usually had good success with this website when searching for gourmet recipes…maybe you can find some cake variations there? http://www.epicurious.com

    Reply

  2. Thanks Jeff!! I’ll have to check it out! 😀

    Reply

  3. Posted by mich on May 1, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Can’t help ya out since I do by the box, but I did make Amish Sweet Bread today – fingers crossed it actually turned out.

    (Sigh) wish I could partake in some of the cakey goodness you bestow upon your coworkers – sigh.

    Mich

    Reply

  4. Oh, sweet bread sounds good! 😀

    Yeah, my coworkers looooove being my guinea pigs! I certainly can’t keep it at home… I’d just eat it all!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Melissa on May 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I often keep sturdy cardboard pieces around and then double or triple them and cover them with heavy-duty foil when I need a cake board. I’ve also been known to do the same thing with my gigantic wooden cutting board.

    Can’t help you with the vanilla cake recipe, but I do possess the ultimate pound cake recipe. It’s an “heirloom” recipe from a few generations back in my family and has made many a wedding cake. I can’t share it, though–I’ve been sworn to secrecy as one of two women in my generation of the family chosen to carry it along. 😉

    Reply

  6. Thanks for the tip Melissa! I was looking at the cake boards at the stores and couldn’t believe they were charging so much for cardboard and tinfoil!!

    As for the recipe, I understand the secrets. The family ones have to stay hush hush! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

