Run ragged…

I went for my very first run tonight! I decided I wanted to try something different and the opportunity presented itself in the form of the Learn to Run clinic at a store called The Running Room.

The clinic is for beginners or people trying to get back into running after injuries or other things. For the first night we started out slowly with a warm up that consisted of a brisk walk to our destination and a walk:run ratio of 2:1 minutes; walk 2 minutes and run 1 minute. We are supposed to run on at least 2 other occasions during the week and on next Friday night we will be running 1 minute and walking 1 minute. The goal is to reach 5 km (3.1 miles) by the end of May.

I’m in desperate need of properly fitted running shoes so I think I will spend some time this weekend hunting down some good shoes.

Wish me luck with this running thing… I’m going to need it!

homer running

6 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats! I also need to start doing something for the ol fitness.

    Reply

  2. Posted by bree1918 on March 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hi! I am so excited reading your post on learning to run. I think it’s awesome that you are embarking on a new challenge. When I decided to run my first half marathon I joined the Running Room.
    I trained and ran with a group of beautiful women. We weren’t the quickest runners but we ran nonetheless.

    Good luck! And hope to your chronicle your running journey.

    Deborah

    Reply

  3. Posted by mich on March 29, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Way to go!! that’s awesome, good luck and I hope that you find success with it.

    Mich

    Reply

  4. Thanks everyone! I hope it goes well too. Thankfully I’m in no pain today. Hopefully the new running shoes will help as well. 😀

    Reply

  5. Posted by bree1918 on March 30, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I love getting new running shoes! It’s almost as nice as getting a new pair of black boots.

    are you going to pick a race?

    Reply

  6. My first goal is to see if I can actually run for more than 1 minute straight. 🙂 Once I figure that out maybe I’ll look into the races. I just hope my ankles decide that running isn’t so bad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

