Citrus Cupcakes

Citrus-y goodness….

This is my latest creation for an office bake sale… lemon-orange cupcakes and lemon-orange buttercream icing.

Citrus Cupcake

Citrus Cupcake

UPDATE: The cupcakes didn’t sell as well as I had expected.  I found out why… apparently they look too pretty, as if bought at the grocery store!  So people were sticking with the home made goodies instead!  When told they really were homemade people responded that I should go into business for myself!  At least now I know who I’ll try selling them to first!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mybloomnart on February 17, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    These look soooo ummyy!!! Do you have a recipe for them?

    Reply

  2. This one I kinda guessed at.
    I took a standard lemon cupcake recipe from which called for about 6tbsp of lemon juice (I had doubled the recipe to get more cupcakes) and modified it to add fresh lemon and orange juice (about 3tbsp of each) as well as the rind from each of them. The extra liquid seemed to make the cake a bit denser than normal but the flavour was great.

    The icing is just standard butter cream but I just kept adding lemon/orange juice and the sugar until the consistency and taste were right. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by mybloomnart on February 17, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    That sounds so good…next time I made some cupcakes I will try experimenting with the citrus. Thanks! I like your blog!

    Reply

  4. Thanks! I like that necklace!

    http://mybloomnart.etsy.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

