Chocolate & Cinnamon

 

If you worked here you’d be eating chocolate cinnamon cupcakes!

But you probably don’t work here so you’re out of luck.

The cupcakes I made this weekend were a success. I used a simple chocolate cupcake recipe by Chockylit and added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon after reducing the cocoa by the same amount. It gave the cupcakes a light cinnamon flavour to complement the dark chocolate and the aroma was wonderful. I might add more cinnamon next time for a spicier cupcake.

The frosting was a basic chocolate ganache (another recipe from Chockylit!). I was a little worried at first as it was very runny and there was nothing to indicate how long it would take to thicken. I am not a patient person and it was already late at night so I decided to refrigerate it and deal with it later. The next day it was completely hard which I had expected. After melting it down I left it on the counter to firm up naturally and it worked out perfectly! The 70% dark chocolate made the frosting a great match for the sweeter cupcake.

As a garnish I mixed up some white sugar and cinnamon. The sugar added that little extra sparkle. I would recommend adding this right before serving. I sprinkled the mix on to the cupcakes the previous night and the combination of a very moist frosting and a water soluble topping such as sugar created a few droplets of syrup.

My coworkers have been happily munching on cupcakes since breakfast!

I also made these cupcakes for a birthday party at a local bar/restaurant and used red sugar crystals on top. I placed a red cinnamon candy in the icing since the birthday girl is a very big fan of cinnamon candies. Another friend managed to snap a photo but the sugar had already started to melt. Bar = high temps = melty.

cinnamon cupcake

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly O on November 2, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Oh my word, that sounds INSANELY good! I think I’ll try to make them this weekend. Mmm, chocolate and cinnamon….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nikita on November 2, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    That cupcake blog has not steered me wrong yet. Just make the icing WAY early because it takes forever to set. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

